Book 51: Zero: The Biography of a Dangerous Idea by Charles Seife (2000)

.

 zero.jpg

I think I just learned more about zero than I’d ever care to know. The first part of the book is more about the history of zero, which is interesting. The second part of the book contains some math and physics mumbo jumbo, which I only skimmed through at best. Hey, I already took all the Calculus and Physics classes that I needed. I’d like to move on with life, please.

I never really thought about the concept of zero. It means null, void. It’s bizarre the way Aristotle and even Descartes refused to admit there’s a zero, a void. I find it hard to believe that the Western rejection of the concept and the Eastern acceptance made all the difference as far as their development of science went. I remember thinking in elementary school why 0 can’t be divided by 0 to get one, but that was as deep as I got. For the most part I didn’t care. Still don’t, actually.

Interesting book, though.

One Response to “Book 51: Zero: The Biography of a Dangerous Idea by Charles Seife (2000)”

  1. nooby Says:

    nice book 🙂


Leave a Reply

