Movie 20: Night at the Museum (2006)

 .

 nightatthemuseum.jpg

I never think Ben Stiller is funny. I think he’s a little above Adam Sandler, but not that far off. The reason I saw this movie was because my former students all couldn’t wait to see it. I was curious. Come to think of it, it has been a while since I last enjoyed a PG-rated movie. Sometimes I wonder if I understand kids’ mind as well as I think I do. I still act like a kid . . . mostly, and I still remember a lot of things that happened when I was in fifth grade, but do I really?

Anyway. The movie was entertaining to some extent. It did get a few laughs out of me. Overall it was horrible though. I hated the special effects (they looked fake), the random idiocy, and I thought some of the references were inappropriate. I can see how kids would laugh at some of the jokes, but do kids really find those things entertaining? They’re kind of . . . lame, IMHO. Darn, I better shape up and learn how to be a kid again.

Leave a Reply

