Book 40: Leaving a Trace by Alexandra Johnson (2001)

.

leavingatrace.jpg

I used to really love this type of books. As a high school student, I would carry a spiral notebook and write whenever I had the time. I think I managed to produce at least thirty spiral notebooks in those short four years – plus the first one year of college. I’ve burned them all because they were embarrassingly narcissistic. I didn’t want anyone to find the evidence of my pettiness.
Sometime last year I noticed that books about writing no longer attracted me as much as it used to. I’ve moved on. I still aim to be a semi-journalist one day, but for the most part I don’t care about writing that much anymore. Two weeks would go by and my spiral notebook (which I still carry out of habit – mainly to doodle and scribble on) would still be blank. I no longer have the energy to write down every silly detail. What’s the use?

One Response to “Book 40: Leaving a Trace by Alexandra Johnson (2001)”

  1. Jeane Says:

    Ha. I used to be an obsessive journal-writer myself and have long since got out of the habit. Maybe a good book about it like this would kick-start my personal writing again.


Leave a Reply

