Book 33: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling (2007)

 .

harrypotter7.jpg

Yes, I finally read the final installment of the Harry Potter series. The whole time I was reading it I couldn’t help thinking of my first encounter. I was a junior in high school and an Afghanistan classmate casually mentioned that she loved Harry Potter. This was when the first four books were already favorites of kids who read fantasy books but not really known by kids who didn’t read at all. Kind of like Vanessa Hudgens before the nude photo scandal. Now everyone has some idea who she is even if they’ve never seen High School Musical.

I especially remember the time I read Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. It was the hugest book and Rowling needed about two years before she came up with the fifth book (actually, it’s three – I just checked). I still remember the library I found it in. Now it’s the library I go to most often. Sigh, I can’t believe how time flies. I could’ve sworn it was just yesterday when I borrowed the fifth book from Samantha and the sixth book from Stephen. They both knew never to lend any books to me again – ever.

In the meantime, the epilogue for this book is rather stupid. I find it annoying when main characters who first meet each other when they’re really young eventually get married. Not saying it’s impossible, but considering the contemporary setting, it’s highly unlikely. Surely new friends come along and they don’t all get married as soon as they hit twenty? Rowling should have left the epilogue to the readers’ imagination. Leave some room for possible relationships among the characters, but don’t conclude it outright.

And finally: it’s just idiotic of Harry and Ginny to name their kids Lily, James, and Albus. Talk about being overly sentimental.

One Response to “Book 33: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling (2007)”

  1. Jeane Says:

    I am in total agreement with you about the epilogue. I had the sinking feeling that she was setting it up for another generation of Potters fighting against Malfoys: a wizarding feud! what an awful idea.


Leave a Reply

