Book 26: Making Music at the Piano by Barbara English Maris (2000)

.

makingmusicatthepiano.jpg

Recently I came to the realization that despite five years of training in piano and two years of training in violin (and I excel in reading music sheets and playing all the right notes), I have no sense of musicality at all. So I picked up this book in hopes of becoming a better musician. Or something.

This book is actually pretty good and can be somewhat helpful for some beginning adult students. Unfortunately, it also assumes that everyone has a musical potential to begin with. And I know from personal experience that it ain’t true. Music certainly didn’t come naturally to me; I had to learn it.

Leave a Reply

