Book 14: Song Quest (The Echorium Sequence) by Katherine Roberts (1999)

.

songquest.jpg

I tried. I really did. But with names like Kherron and Rialle, and with bizarre terms like Challa and Aushan (italics not mine) . . . I just had to stop trying. Not worth the effort.

I can’t even begin to understand how one reviewer could say this book is “[f]or the child who keeps asking for the next Harry Potter.” It’s nothing like Harry Potter. At all. For one thing: Harry, Ron, and Hermione are all English names. For another: any foreign words in a Harry Potter books are usually readable nevertheless.

I really don’t want to use any brain cells on a fantasy book just trying to pronounce the names. Period.

6 Responses to “Book 14: Song Quest (The Echorium Sequence) by Katherine Roberts (1999)”

  1. vintagefan Says:

    Hi, I can’t help thinking you’ve moved beyond junior fantasy novels. You don’t seem to enjoy any of them, you sound so bored!
    They’re too many fantasy novels with that sort of stuff written on the cover these days, sometimes it just doesn’t make sense. They do it to sell the book. Plus Scholastic is the US publisher of harry Potter, they’re going to milk it for what it’s worth.

  2. threebooksandamovie Says:

    Nah. I doubt I’ve moved beyond junior fantasy novels. To prove it, so far I have recently enjoyed Wise Child by Monica Furlong, The Thief by Megan Turner, Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine, The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman, The Dark Is Rising by Susan Cooper, The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud, The Lost Treasure of Talus Scree by Adam Osterweil, and most recently: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. I have also read everything else those authors have written although I didn’t necessarily like their other books just as much.

    The problem is the fantasy books I’ve picked lately just aren’t that well-written or sufficiently engaging. Yes, I do wish every book I randomly pick up satisfies my taste, but unfortunately it doesn’t work that way.

  3. vintagefan Says:

    Well, I used to read pretty much any fantasy I could get my hands on, but then I realised I was becoming picky about what I was putting in my brains. Eventually I came to pick books intuitively, and now it’s become a habit, I like almost everything I pick out. Not much fantasy though. I’ve been wanting to read Genetopia though, but it’s at the bottom of my reading list. I think it’s junior fantasy/sci-fi. Have you read it?

  4. Milee Says:

    I loved the book and I thought it was very romantic and adventuous. I don’t really care what other people think but i thought it ROCKED. (some of the parts were a little confusing but once you really get into it, it gets REALLY cool.)
    P.S. this girl asked a whole bunch of questions like Why do they have to have bue hair? what kinds of names are Kherron and Rialle? Personally that gal is screwed up and doesn’t have an imagination.

  5. nithya Says:

    the books were awesome….i read only the dark quetzal n the crystal mask….n the first is no where to be found….im sooo dying ta read it……the books are simply Awesum….i hvent got a better word for it..hmm.i love “EM…

  6. nithya Says:

    the books were awesome….i read only the dark quetzal n the crystal mask….n the first is no where to be found….im sooo dying ta read it……the books are simply Awesum….i hvent got a better word for it..hmm.i love “EM…oh n blue hair is awesome tooo….it totally rox….n ummm….da names r fabuluz…..simply_ – i love the books…n da people…n everything thats in it….


Leave a Reply

