Book 10: Down the Rabbit Hole by Peter Abrahams (2005)

.

downtherabbithole.jpg

I may not know anything about mystery, but I know terrible writing when I see one. Ingrid is one of the most one-dimensional characters I’ve ever encountered. She’s thirteen (or eleven – I may be confusing her with another character of a book I recently read), but she doesn’t sound like one at all. I find it really hard to relate to her the way I could easily relate to other female protagonists in a juvenile novel. I’m not even sure if this book qualified to be a juvenile novel (my library marks it as one). You can definitely tell that the narrative is written by an adult male who has no idea how it’s like to be a teenage girl. This book should probably be a book for adults about children, or something. I may appreciate it when I’m older, but not now.

2 Responses to “Book 10: Down the Rabbit Hole by Peter Abrahams (2005)”

  1. mike Says:

    well said

  2. Ally Says:

    Whaaat??? Are you joking?
    I could totally relate to this book, and I thought that Ingrid was pretty dang interesting. (She’s thirteen, no eleven-year-old would talk or think the way she does.) I have no idea what you’re thinking.


Leave a Reply

