Book 1: The Gospel of Judas edited by Rodolphe Kasser, Marvin Meyer, and Gregor Wurst (2006)

.

thegospelofjudas.jpg

I already skimmed over this book when it first came out and made it to the news. It didn’t really strike me as especially blasphemous when I first read it. Even now, what I see is simply Judas'(s) side of the story. By “betraying” Jesus, he was doing him and all the Christians a favor. After all, Jesus died to give the world a second chance.

That was actually the view I already held long before I came across this gospel. I used to sympathize with Judas because he was essentially the scapegoat. Jesus’ death had been planned, predicted, expected, and such. If there was any specific human being to blame for the crucifixion, it was Adam. Or maybe Eve.

Leave a Reply

